Thread: New to RC - London ON

Rookie Member O.G. LRC Feedback Score 0
    Last Online
    03-11-2017 @ 09:41 PM

New to RC - London ON

Hello from London!

I'm an RC newbie who's been contemplating venturing into the hobby for many years. I first created this account in 2011 and never ended up going through with my "initiation" to the RC world. 5 years later, the RC itch still hasn't been scratched and I'm confident that I can get my money's worth over the following years to come.

But, I need some direction.

There isn't any specific discipline that draws me in much more than the others. I love the art of drifting, but I more so love the thrill of competition. I'd like to participate in leagues/tournaments but I'd like to stay as local as possible (within a couple hours optimally). I'm also pretty impartial about nitro vs. electric. I love tinkering and I'll enjoy either or. But if I had to pick, I'd go electric.

My interest leans more towards on-road racing (carpet or pavement) though I haven't been able to find any active communities in the London area.

I like the looks of the fifth scale offroad/onroad chamionship series (RC Acres - Canada's Premiere 1/5 Scale Racing Facility) though I understand that fifth scale is one of the more expensive disciplines of the hobby and maybe not so beginner-friendly.

I just want to know if anyone from the London area could direct me towards some good leagues or groups that have active racing schedules (monthly or bi-weekly).
    Is there any london area meetups where I could go talk to some of you pros & maybe try out a car for the first time?

Also is anyone involved in the fifth scale racing scene? I like the looks of the on-road rally series. Do people still race it? Its difficult to find information online.

Any help is appreciated (:
    Thanks so much!

PS. I'm open to first-car suggestions. Really liking fifth scale, if the scene in the London area is big enough. Open to used or new models, but would prefer new.